The Tullow Community School Parents’ Association is affiliated to PACCS (Parents’ Association of Community & Comprehensive Schools)

Tullow was one of the first Parents’ Association of Community Schools in Ireland. PACCS was founded in Tullow in 1984 with Phil Callanan as A/Chairman. It developed rapidly all over the country and was instrumental in setting up the National Parents’ Council.

The Parents Council is a forum in which parents may liaise with the Principal and teaching staff in the school, and have representation on the Board of Management. We undertake and promote activities which advance the aims and objectives of the Community School and bring to the attention of the Principal, or his representative, various concerns of parents. We also co-operate with the Principal in implementing decisions taken as a result of consultation.

Tullow Community School Parents’ Association is a very active and vibrant committee today. Attached are:

  1. Names of our current members and Board of Management representatives.
  2. Details of our Constitution.
  3. List of activities and events we participate in during the year.

We hope that our endeavours benefit everyone connected with Tullow Community School.


All parents of children attending Tullow Community School are members of the Tullow Community School Parents Association.

A Parent’s Council is formed in order to conduct the affairs of the Parent’s Association. This Council consists of two parent’s nominees who are elected to sit on the School Board of Management (one mother and one father) plus eighteen additional members elected by the parents.

The Parent’s Council meets on the second Wednesday of each month. Broadly speaking these meetings are taken up with the role of the Parent’s Council to meet the Principal or his representative for consultation and where necessary to bring to his attention various concerns of parents and co-operate with the Membership.

Parents Council Members

Position Name
Chairperson Veronica Ronan
Vice Chairperson Michaél Doyle
Secretary Kathryn Coleman
Geraldine Murray
Pro Karen Halligan
Vice Pro
Anne Dowling
Treasurer Paula Deering
Vice Treasurer Cathy Lawlor
Board of Management Rep Marguerite Agar
James Orbinski
Committee Helen Tooher

Miriam Dempsey

Carmel Gavin

Una O’Neill

Deirdre Tynan

Maria Dawson

Martina O’Toole

Grainne Butler

Fiona Healy

Marie Johnson

Valerie Moore

Nicky Moore

Yvonne O’Brien

Susanne Sherratt

Georgina Kealy

Tina Moran O’Dwyer

Levina Loftus Kavanagh

Lisa Denton

Breege Pender