|  Login   |  SchoolWise

Parents Council


The Tullow Community School Parents’ Association is affiliated to PACCS (Parents’ Association of Community & Comprehensive Schools).
Tullow was one of the first Parents’ Association of Community Schools in Ireland. PACCS was founded in Tullow in 1984 with Phil Callanan as A/Chairman. It developed rapidly all over the country and was instrumental in setting up the National Parents’ Council.

The Parents Council is a forum in which parents may liaise with the Principal and teaching staff in the school, and have representation on the Board of Management. We undertake and promote activities which advance the aims and objectives of the Community School and bring to the attention of the Principal, or his representative, various concerns of parents. We also co-operate with the Principal in implementing decisions taken as a result of consultation.

Tullow Community School Parents’ Association is a very active and vibrant committee today. Attached are:

  1. Names of our current members and Board of Management representatives.
  2. Details of our Constitution.
  3. List of activities and events we participate in during the year.

We hope that our endeavours benefit everyone connected with Tullow Community School.


All parents of children attending Tullow Community School are members of the Tullow Community School Parents Association.

A Parent’s Council is formed in order to conduct the affairs of the Parent’s Association. This Council consists of two parent’s nominees who are elected to sit on the School Board of Management (one mother and one father) plus eighteen additional members elected by the parents.

The Parent’s Council meets on the second Wednesday of each month. Broadly speaking these meetings are taken up with the role of the Parent’s Council to meet the Principal or his representative for consultation and where necessary to bring to his attention various concerns of parents and co-operate with the Membership 

Parents Council Members



 Chairperson Ms VeronicaRonan 
 Vice Chair Mr Michaél Doyle
 Secretary Ms HelenTooher 
 Vice Secretary Ms April Rooney 

 Pro Ms Geraldine Murray
 Vice Pro Ms Margaret Clark 
 Treasurer Ms Paula Deering 
 Vice Treasurer
Ms Cathy Lawlor 
 Board of
 Management Rep


Marguerite Agar

Margaret Sinnott

James Orbinski

Carol Murphy

Miriam Dempsey

Liz Savage

Nicola Brennan

Veronica Black

Carmel Gavin

Caroline Murphy Doran

Una O’Neill

Deirdre Tynan

Aisling Ward

Rosie Byrne

Katherine Coleman

Maria Dawson

Anne Dowling

Karen Halligan

Fiona Hutton

Martina O’Toole

Joanne Murphy

Grainne Butler

Fiona Healy

Deidre Dillon

Aine Kealy

Marie Johnson

Helen Doyle 

Conor Ronan